2023 Junior Festivals State Piano Competition

The Pennsylvania Federation of Music Clubs held their third State Piano Competition at the Pine Street United Methodist Church in Williamsport on Saturday, April 29, 2023. Twenty one students competed for awards and monetary prizes. Students who won the Regional round from the West, Central, and East comprised the State competitors.

Thank you to their teachers: Scott Besser, Katherine Barley, Charlene Hubbard,

Barbara Kelly, Kathleen Krouse, Susan Kuntz, Elaine Mosteller, Amber Nicholson,

Terrie Scarboro, Susan Stillo, Darlene Sydlik, Jessica Wood, Joanne Yang, and

Darlene Ziegler who worked diligently to prepare their students for both the Regional and State Competitions. A total of $ 1,075 was awarded to the level winners, along with $950 in Outstanding Awards.

Judges for the PFMC State Finals were: John Ravert, BA, Music and Elementary Education School of Piano, Organ, and Theory; Diane Scott, MA, Adjunct music professor at Susquehanna University, Selinsgrove, active member of the American Guild of Organists; Marcos Krieger, DMA, Associate Professor of Music, Susquehanna University.

It was not only an exciting day for all students to make new friends and compete in this big event, but a delight for family, friends, PFMC Board members and teachers to witness their amazing talent! Congratulations to all!

Judges: John Ravert, Diane Scott, Marcos Krieger
Daniel Turley – Medium Level Winner – teacher, Elaine Mostoller
Jayden Jiang – Moderately Difficult I Level Winner – teacher, Joanne Yang
Eli Zen – Moderately Difficult II Level Winner – teacher, Charlene Hubbard
Ethan Nguyen – Moderately Difficult III Level Winner- teacher, Susan Kuntz
Jocelyn Stroud – Difficult 1 Level Winner – teacher, Terrie Scarboro
Minori Yamashita – Difficult II Level Winner – teacher, Darlene Sydlik
Michelle Zheng – Very Difficult I Level Winner – teacher, Elaine Mostoller
Sydney Montgomery – Very Difficult II Level Winner – teacher, Katherine Barley
Emma Schilling – Moderately Advanced I Level Winner – teacher, Darlene Ziegler
MaryGrace Grego – Moderately Advanced II Level Winner – teacher, Jessica Wood
Oliver Wang – President’s Award – teacher, Amber Nicholson
Ethan NguyenMemorial Award – teacher, Susan Kuntz
Liam Greenan – Honorary Award – teacher, Scott Besser
Oliver Wang – Concerto Award – teacher, Amber Nicholson
Albert Wen – Distinguished Award – teacher, Darlene Ziegler
Caden Lewis – Distinguished Award – teacher, Kathleen Krouse
Elijah Yuhze Lin – Distinguished Award – teacher, Joanne Yang
Nicolas DeNora – Special Recognition Award – teacher, Susan Stillo
Polina Goncharova – Special Recognition Award – teacher, Terrie Scarboro
Oscar Liu – Special Recognition Award – teacher, Darlene Ziegler